LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission has awarded $11,550 in grants for projects to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the American Civil War, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

Recipients of Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants were:

* MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, Little Rock, $2,000 for “On the Road with Ed Bearss,” a tour of Camden Expedition sites with the former chief historian of the National Park Service

* Grant County Museum, $575 for “Connecting the Dots to the Battle of Jenkins’ Ferry: Students Trace Back an A’MAZEing 150 Years”

* Friends of Jenkins’ Ferry Battlefield, $2,000 for the April 26-27 sesquicentennial commemoration of the battle

* Bryant Historical Society, $575 for restoration of the Battle of Hurricane Creek historical marker

* Vernon Dutton, $2,000 to videotape the Camden Expedition: Red River Campaign re-enactment

* Conway Women’s Chorus, $2,000 to support its “Civil War in Story and Song” program.

Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants of up to $2,000 are awarded four times per year, as funding is available. The next deadline is Friday, February 14.

Grant applications and guidelines can be downloaded at, or can be requested by writing to ACWS Grants, 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, sending an e-mail to, or calling (501) 324-9877 .

Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants may be used for, but are not limited to, the following types of projects:

* Development of plans for local commemoration of the Civil War Sesquicentennial

* Speakers’ fees and materials for symposia, conferences and workshops

* Development of museum exhibits or interpretive materials related to local Civil War events

* Development of printed materials, educational software, films, or videos interpreting the Civil War in Arkansas.

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit or e-mail

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.