LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission has approved an application for another Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Historical Marker in Jefferson County, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

The historical marker will be located at 714 West Fourth Avenue in Pine Bluff and will discuss the Boone-Murphy House, which was Union Col. Powell Clayton’s headquarters during the Civil War. The Pine Bluff Historic District Commission is sponsoring the marker.

Through the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historical Marker Program, the ACWSC works with local partners to help tell the stories of how the Civil War affected communities around the state. The Commission hopes that there will be at least one marker in each of the state’s 75 counties by the end of the commemoration in 2015. To date, 20 markers have been installed.

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit or e-mail

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.